top of page

First full drop spindle

Here is what I have learned so far.

  1. Park and Draft is potentially my life saver. You put the spindle between your knees and pull a little bit of the rolag out thin then spin the drop spindle till its wound and repeat.

  2. my wool has a really short staple length (best I can tell that means how long the fibers are). It is recommended that you start with 3"-5" in staples mine is around or below 2" which is considered nearly impossible (I totally agree)

  3. Niddy-Noddy is a really fun thing to say, it is just a tool that lets you measure your yarn and is totally optional but super easy to build

  4. Spend the money on real carders, they are expensive for a reason. It makes a real difference.

  5. it takes very little wool to make a lot of yarn so don't try to shear 10 sheep first go around... I am at about 80yds and haven't even made a dent.

  6. Don't spin the wool nearly as much as you think as that will cause it to kink up a ton.

  7. I will eventually give in and buy a spinning wheel... you know, someday when I have 2 grand to spare.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page